All Labels

All Products > Albums

Kalevala: Dream of the Salmon Maiden

Artist: Ruth MacKenzie
Label: Omnium
Genre : Nordic Rock World
Instruments : Bass guitar Drum kit Electric guitar Guitar, acoustic Percussion Recorder Violin Vocals Vocals, kulning Vocals (female)
Geography : United States
Label : Omnium -

Omnium is proud to present the original cast recording of Ruth MacKenzie's Kalevala: Dream of the Salmon Maiden. This soaring blend of powerful music, song and dance was a complete sellout for its first two theatrical runs, and the music is now captured on CD.

Based on a Finnish saga, it's the story of the untamable within us, exploring the thin line between earth, animal and the human voice. In 1993, while on tour in Finland with Red House Records group Trova, Ruth MacKenzie fell under the spell of a vocal style called "kulning" (a high-pitched Swedish song for calling animals). She soon returned to Scandinavia to study this and other traditional vocal styles.

With Kalevala... she has achieved a unique balance between ancient and modern. She sings both in Finnish and English, combining folk melodies with original songs inspired by the tradition.

This CD features a stellar ensemble, including Peter Ostroushko on fiddle and Dean Magraw on guitar.

  • "MacKenzie has a soaring, distinct voice that suits this kind of rough-edged music very well, and has the ability to bring both that rawness and an operatic quality to her performance -- uncannily, though she is singing in English, it is possible to end up convinced that she is actually singing in Finnish. Overall excellent, engaging, and challenging work." -- All Music Guide

  • "...MacKenzie is a marvel: powerful, vulnerable, thoroughly committed, an earth figure who strongly centers this deeply felt show. Few tickets remain. Fight for them." -- Minneapolis Star Tribune

  • " almost frighteningly passionate mix of music, myth, and movement, wholly original and entirely unforgettable." -- City Pages

  • " extraordinary vocal talent." -- Minneapolis Star Tribune
Track List:
1 Salmon Dance 4:20 iTunes
2 Kaikk' Mïä 4:15 iTunes
3 Aino's Complaint 4:52 iTunes
4 In the Blue Woodland 6:02 iTunes
5 Oi Dai 4:40 iTunes MP3 Download
6 O My Body 5:50 iTunes
7 Swimming on the Surface 4:58 iTunes
8 Medley for Swedish Säckpipa 2:57 iTunes
9 Flowed a Tear 5:02 iTunes
10 Soul Bird 5:46 iTunes
11 Kulning 1:32 iTunes
12 Give Us Room to Roar 3:13 iTunes MP3 Download
13 Kulning 1:19 iTunes
14 If I Knew 4:58 iTunes
Retail Price: $12.00
Price: $12.00